The Canadian Tour's Players Cup begins today at Pine Ridge. 158 golfers are in the field including eight Manitobans. They are Tour members Adam Speirs, Matt Johnston, Ryan Horn and Tyler Mancini. Dean North of Carman, host pro Shane Dick and Niakwa amateur Scott Markham were given exemptions while Carman assistant pro Scott Borsa qualified Monday at Glendale. Forty of the top 42 money-winners this season are entered, including money-list leader Brock Mackenzie of the United States. Defending champion Graham DeLaet of Saskatchewan is not back. He's a full-time member of the PGA Tour. This year's purse is $300,000. The winner earns a cheque for $48,000 and receives a spot in the PGA Tour field next week at St. George's Golf and Country Club in Toronto.




 CKMW sports director Matt Friesen asked Dean North to comment on the Players Cup