Morden's Trent Crane will play in the 2022 World Junior A Hockey Challenge that begins Sunday in Cornwall, Ontario. The Summerside Western Capitals forward, who has 13 goals and 24 assists in 20 games this season, was named to Team Canada East's 22-player roster after the completion of the selection camp on Wednesday. Winkler Flyers bench boss Justin Falk is the head coach for Team Canada West.

The Morden Bombers and Ste. Anne Aces were winners in the SEMHL Thursday night. Adam Hughesman had a hat trick and Jory Mullin had two goals and two assists as Morden defeated Ile des Chenes 7-2. Mike Rey and Jaden Townsend also scored for the Bombers. Matthew Osadick and Josh Beauchemin replied for the North Stars. Keith Grondin had a hat trick and Joey Moggach had a goal and four helpers as Ste. Anne downed Carman 8-4. Tanner Harms added a pair of goals for the first place Aces while the rest went to Miguel Rondeau and Burke Heide. Nathan Karlowsky, Tanner Mole, AJ Nychuk and Scott Atkins did the goal scoring for the Beavers. 

JJ Oke and Carson Inman scored two goals each as Portage Collegiate bounced Carman 9-1. Kade Maryniuk, Logan Budz, Brandon Patterson, Maddox Shindle and Alex Van Deynze also scored for the defending Zone 4 High School Hockey League champion Trojans. Rowan Peters chipped in with four assists. Josh Hiebert had the lone goal for the Cougars.

Pierre-Luc Dubois had two goals and an assist and Mark Scheifele earned his 600th NHL point as the Winnipeg Jets downed the Blues 5-2 in St. Louis. Kyle Connor, Blake Wheeler and Cole Perfetti also scored for the Jets. Connor Hellebuyck made 29 saves.

Canada's world junior team kicks off camp today following another big boost from the NHL. Hockey Canada said the Seattle Kraken have loaned forward Shane Wright to the team before the start of its selection camp in Moncton, New Brunswick, for the upcoming world junior championship. Wright was on Canada's team at the 2022 world junior championship that was postponed due to an outbreak of the COVID-19 Omicron variant. He did not play in August's rescheduled tournament in Edmonton.

Mike O’Shea has signed a three-year contract extension which will have him continue to lead the Winnipeg Blue Bombers through the 2025 Canadian Football League season. A back-to-back winner of the Annis Stukus Trophy as the CFL’s top coach in 2021 and 2022, O’Shea ranks third in career wins in Blue Bombers franchise history with 82, behind only Bud Grant (102) and Cal Murphy (86). He is currently the CFL’s longest-serving head coach, having led the Blue Bombers for eight years since accepting the role in December of 2013.

Manitoba champions Randy Neufeld, Dean Moxham, Peter Nicholls and Dale Michie have clinched a playoff spot at the 2022 Canadian Senior Men's Curling Championship in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. Neufeld has an 8-0 record and will wrap up play in the championship pool today with a pair of games against Wes Craig of BC and Glen MacLeod of Nova Scotia.