Miller girls and Garden Valley boys will play in the semifinals at the Provincial Junior Varsity AAA Volleyball Championships in Winnipeg. The Aces will meet the Leo Remillard Renards at Linden Christian School. The Zodiacs will take on the St. John’s Ravenscourt Eagles at Balmoral Hall. Rosenort will face St. Paul’s in the A/AA girls semifinal in Flin Flon. Miami will meet Immanuel Christian in the A/AA boys semifinal in The Pas. Morris boys lost to Warren in a play-in game.

The Miller Aces and Mountain Mustangs were winners in the Zone 4 High School Hockey League Friday night. Marshall Braun scored the go-ahead goal with 2:39 left in regulation as Miller edged Morris 3-2. Kumera Kauenhofen and Ziko Pankratz also scored for the Aces. Alex Sabourin and Tyson Wiebe replied for the Mavericks. Layne Bourdeaud’hui scored twice and Gavin Rondeau potted the game winner with 67 seconds left as Mountain shaded Morden 4-3. Dion Delichte also scored for the Mustangs. Corby Stemkowski, Logan McPhail and Rhett Mestdagh did the goal scoring for the defending champion Thunder.

Riley Goertzen had a pair of goals and Logan Enns made 41 saves as the Pembina Valley Twisters doubled up on the Charleswood Hawks 6-3 at the Eric Coy Arena. Merek Degraeve, Ryan Orchard, Zander Carels and Jacob Carels also scored for the Twisters.

The Brandon Wheat Kings lost 2-0 to Red Deer. The Rebels did their scoring in the final minute of regulation. Ollie Josephson scored at 19:40 of the third period and Kai Uchacz added an empty-netter eight second later. Brandon netminder Ethan Eskit made 29 saves.

Connor Hellebuyck made 32 saves as the Winnipeg Jets blanked the Florida Panthers 3-0. Nino Niederreiter, Nikolaj Ehlers and Adam Lowry into an empty net did the goal scoring for the Jets who have won five in a row. The game marked the return of Winnipeg head coach Rick Bowness. Bowness took a leave of absence back on October 23rd to be with his wife Judy who suffered a seizure. The Jets went 9-2-2 under associate coach Scott Arniel

The Manitoba Moose dropped a 5-1 decision to the Grand Rapids Griffins. Jeff Mallot had the lone goal for the Moose.

Manitoba champions Derrick Anderson and Kara Balshaw were eliminated after losing back-to-back playoff games Friday at the Canadian Curling Club Championships at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. Anderson fell 7-3 to Dan Sherrard of Alberta and 5-4 to Shea Steele of Nova Scotia. Balshaw lost 6-2 to Abby Burgess of New Brunswick and 6-4 to Tanya Phillips of Nova Scotia.