The Winkler Royals and Portage Islanders were winners in the SEMHL Wednesday night. Phil Letkeman scored twice and Jayme Janzen made 37 saves as Winkler defeated the Ile des Chenes Northstars 5-2 at the Centennial Arena. Brett Suderman, Marcus Neufeld and Keith Grondin also scored for the Royals who moved into a tie for seventh place with the Northstars. Both teams have 14 points. Matt Osadick and Justin Engel replied for Ile des Chenes. Brody Moffatt scored the go-ahead goal 9:20 into the third period as Portage shaded Morden 5-4 at Stride Place. Shaydon Mousseau, Jared Roy, Chance Dickenson and Robby Moar had the other Islanders goals. Mike Rey scored twice for the Bombers while singles went to Andrew Clark and Logan Christensen. Morden finished the regular season schedule with 19 points. Portage and Notre Dame are two points back of the fourth place Bombers. The Islanders and Hawks both have two games left. 

The MJHL/SJHL Showcase is over. After winning all three games on Tuesday, the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League took two out of three at the Seven Oaks Sportsplex in Winnipeg on Wednesday. Sean Williams of the Waywayseecappo Wolverines scored twice as MJHL 20U Black downed SJHL 20U Gold 4-2. SJHL 20U White defeated MJHL 20U Red 7-5. Winkler Flyers forward Dalton Andrew scored twice for 20U Red. SJHL 18U Blue beat MJHL 18U White 5-2. Winkler's Liam Ernst made 31 saves in net for 18U White.

The NHL all-star weekend kicks off today at Toronto's Scotiabank Arena. The all-star player draft, in addition to the Professional Women's Hockey League 3-on-3 showcase will be starting things off. Ste. Anne's Jocelyne Larocque, who plays for Toronto, is on the Team King roster for the showcase. Three Winnipeg Jets are in Toronto, and they are goaltender Connor Hellebuyck, forward Kyle Connor and head coach Rick Bowness.

The Manitoba Moose have recalled forward Mark Liwiski from the ECHL's Norfolk Admirals. Liwiski, 22, has tallied 16 points (7G, 9A) along with 193 penalty minutes in 36 games with the Admirals this season. The Dauphin product has 33 career points (17G, 16A) in 103 ECHL contests split between Wichita and Norfolk. Prior to making his professional debut, the forward suited up in the WHL for the Everett Silvertips and Kelowna Rockets. He recorded 96 points (52G, 44A) over the span of 204 contests.

Three Canadian champion junior teams, a pair of dedicated long-term volunteers, and a curler with six Manitoba, Canadian and World championships on his resume will be honoured with induction into the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame May 5th in Winnipeg. The 2024 Builder inductees include former CurlManitoba President and Curling Canada Governor Sam Antila who has also been a long-time volunteer at Thompson’s Burntwood Curling Club and Bill Biehl, a pioneer in the implementation of organized coaching instruction and coaching programs in Manitoba and three-times past-President of Winnipeg’s Heather Curling Club. The 2024 Curler inductee is Ken Tresoor who won a pair of Manitoba Mixed titles along with a pair of Manitoba Men’s championships, one Canadian, and one World title in an over 25-year competitive career. The three junior champion Team inductees are the 1989 Canadian champion and world bronze medal team of Cathy Overton, Tracy Baldwin, Carol Harvey and Tracy Bush; the 1994 Canadian champion team of Jennifer Jones, Trisha Baldwin, Jill Officer and Dana Malanchuk, and the 1995 Canadian champion and world bronze medal team of Chris Galbraith, Scott Cripps, Brent Barrett and Bryan Galbraith.