Zack Waldvogel scored the go-ahead goal with 2:38 left in regulation as the Portage Islanders edged the Winkler Royals 3-2. Jens Meilleur had the other two goals for the SEMHL leading Islanders including the tying marker on the power play at 13:37 of the third period. Aaron Lewadniuk had both goals for the Royals. Portage improved to 12-0 on the season. The Royals (6-6-1), Morden Bombers Red River Wild and Warren Mercs are tied for fourth place with 13 points each. The Mercs scored five third period goals and beat the Ste. Anne Aces.  Eric Swanson scored twice for the defending champion while the rest went to Brenden Luschinski, Riley Vautour, Drake Lindsay, Braydon MacDonald, Johnny Lazo and Carson Ouellette. Brenden Walker had three goals for the hometown Aces and the other two went to Braden Purtill and Ken Selby. Ste. Anne is in second place with 20 points. 

The Miller Aces and Mountain Mustangs were winners in the Zone 4 High School Hockey League. Darion Penner made 29 saves as Miller downed Carman 5-3. Marshall Braun, Griffin Hildebrand, Ziko Pankrantz, Braison Penner and Tyson Tarnick did the goal scoring for the Aces. Ryan Orchard scored twice for the Cougars and drew an assist Ethan Wilde's second period power play goal. Brett Lesage potted the shootout winner as Mountain shaded Morris 3-2. Joshua Comte and Miguel Collet scored in regulation for the visiting Mustangs. Seth Laroche and Awstin Suwala replied for the Mavericks.

Kam Thomas scored twice and Marek Miller had four assists as the Pembina Valley Hawks defeated the Southwest Cougars 6-2. Jayden Penner, Carter Campbell, Ty Love and Liam Goertzen also scored for the Hawks who received a 39-save performance from Bryson Yaschyshyn. 

The Winnipeg Ice lost 4-3 to Seattle. Nico Myatovic won it for the Thunderbirds as he beat Daniel Hauser 3:26 into overtime. Matthew Savoie had a pair of goals for the Ice. Conor Geekie's 18th of the season tied the game at 3-3 with 5:21 left in regulation. 

Caitlin Kraemer scored twice as Team Canada defeated the United States 3-1 and finished the preliminary round with a 3-0 record at the 2023 World Women's U18 Hockey Championship in Ostersund, Sweden. Emmalee Pais also scored for the Canadians who will play in the semifinals on Saturday. 

The Manitoba Moose dropped a 3-2 decision to the Marlies in Toronto. Jansen Harkins and Dominic Toninato did the goal scoring for the Moose who have one win and three losses on their six-game road trip. Manitoba defenceman Declan Chisholm has been named to the 2023 AHL All-Star Classic taking place February 5th & 6th in Laval, Quebec. The 22-year-old Bowmanville, Ontario native ranks second on the Moose with 22 points (3G, 19A) in 30 games this season. His 19 assists lead the Moose and three power play goals are third-most among Manitoba skaters. Chisholm made his NHL debut last season, appearing in two games with the Winnipeg Jets.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers signed offensive tackle Jermarcus Hardrick to a one-year contract extension. He was scheduled to become a free agent next month. Hardrick returns to the Blue Bombers for a seventh season in 2023. He started 17 regular season games at right tackle in 2022 and was part of an offence that finished second in offensive points (28.2), first in touchdowns (58), second in rushing yards (113.5) while yielding the second-fewest sacks (29). Hardrick was a CFL All-Star in 2021 and was named to the CFL Players’ Association All-Star squad in 2022.

The 133rd Manitoba Open Bonspiel begins tonight with draws at 6 p.m. & 9 p.m. at 13 curling clubs in Winnipeg. The opening ceremonies take place at the Fort Rouge Curling Club. 187 teams entered the full bonspiel and 64 are competing in the half bonspiel. Three spots in the 2023 Viterra Provincial Men's Curling Championship next month in Neepawa will be awarded to teams who are eligible in the full bonspiel.