The Winkler Flyers gave up three first period goals and lost 5-1 to the expansion Niverville Nighthawks Wednesday night at the Centennial Arena. Jayce Legaarden had the lone goal for the Flyers who suffered their first loss after opening the 2022-23 Manitoba Junior Hockey League season with a pair of wins this past weekend. Malachi Klassen got the start in net for Winkler and stopped 26 of 31 shots before being replaced by Aidan Comeau who played the final 15 minutes and handled all four shots he faced. The Flyers next game is Friday against the Nighthawks in Niverville. 

Six goaltenders, 16 defensemen and 28 forwards will be attending Winnipeg Jets training camp which starts today at Bell MTS Iceplex. Players are divided into two groups and they are Team Hawerchuk and Team Steen. Practice sessions today are at 10 a.m. for Team Hawerchuk and 1 p.m. for Team Steen. The Jets first of six pre-season games is Sunday in Edmonton against the Oilers. 

Joe Poplawski has been selected as the 14th inductee to the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Ring of Honour at IG Field. A gifted receiver who was acquired via trade with Edmonton in 1978, Poplawski played for the Blue Bombers from 1978-86, was named the Canadian Football League’s Most Outstanding Rookie in 1978, and was twice saluted as the CFL’s Most Outstanding Canadian (first in 1981 and then again in 1986). He was also a finalist for the same award in 1989, 1984 and 1985. He still ranks third all-time in Blue Bombers history in receptions (549) and receiving yardage (8,341) behind only Milt Stegall and James Murphy. A five-time CFL All-Star (1978, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986), he was inducted into the Winnipeg Football Club Hall of Fame in 1990 and the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1998. Poplawski’s name will be added to the Ring of Honour at halftime on Friday, October 28th when the Bombers close out the regular season against the B.C. Lions. He will join the 13 other inductees to the Ring of Honour in Chris Walby, Ken Ploen, Gerry James, Milt Stegall, Dieter Brock, Leo Lewis, Bud Grant, Herb Gray, Doug Brown, Jack Jacobs, Fritz Hanson, Bob Cameron and Bob Irving.

Three Manitoba teams won their opening game at the 2022 PointsBet Invitational in Fredericton. Reigning Canadian champion Kerri Einarson defeated Tracey Larocque of Thunder Bay 12-3; Jennifer Jones downed Andrea Kelly of Fredericton 9-5 and Matt Dunstone beat Greg Smith of St. John’s 15-2. The wins were worth $3,000 each to Einarson, Jones and Dunstone. Elite 8 winners will pocket $6,000, with $12,000 going to winners of Final 4 games, and $24,000 will be awarded to the men’s and women’s champions respectively after Sunday’s finals. Chelsea Carey was eliminated after losing 10-6 to Selena Sturmay of Edmonton. Kaitlyn Lawes, Mike McEwen, Reid Carruthers and Braden Calvert will play their Sweep 16 openers today. 

The Winkler Storm's soccer season is over. The Storm were shutout 5-0 by Hellas SC who are the Manitoba Major Soccer League's Premier Division champions. Winkler finished the season with three wins, 13 losses and two ties.