The Morden Thunder, PCI Trojans and Northlands Parkway Nighthawks were winners in the Zone 4 High School Hockey League Monday night. Zach Dyck scored the go-ahead goal with 32 seconds left as Morden edged Pembina 5-4. Acoyen Fehr and Brooks Merasty added two goals each for the first place Thunder. Tanner Anderson had all four goals for the Tigers. Alex Van Deynze and JJ Oke each had a goal and an assist as Portage Collegiate downed Carman 4-2. Rowan Peters and Cam Sarna also scored for the defending champion Trojans. Ryan Orchard and Ethan Wilde replied for the Cougars. Blake Reimer, Simon Hiebert and Riley Peters did the goal scoring as NPC shaded Mountain 3-2 in Notre Dame and won for the first time this season. Brett Lesage and Gavin Rondeau scored for the Mustangs. 

Five Winkler Flyers will play in the 2023 MJHL-SJHL Showcase January 31st and February 1st at the Seven Oaks Sportsplex in Winnipeg. Brody Beauchemin and Zack Nicolas will play for Team 18U White; Trent Sambrook and Trent Penner will play for Team 20U Black and Mike Svenson will play on Team 20U Red. The event provides high performance exposure in front of NHL, WHL, NCAA and USPORTS scouts. The 2023 edition of the joint showcase is the first in Manitoba and first since 2020 in Regina, after both the 2021 and 2022 showcases were canceled due to the global pandemic.

Andrew Irving of the Fort Rouge Curling Club in Winnipeg won the 133rd Manitoba Open Bonspiel. Irving defeated Justin Reynolds of Winnipeg Beach 5-4 in the Asham Event final. Other event winners were Josh Drews (Merrimack Valley), Sean Grassie (Deer Lodge), Jesse McCullough (Fort Garry), Andrew Wickman (Fort Rouge), Darryl Friesen (St. Vital), Adam Minor (AMCC), Ken Stanley (St. Vital), Steve Michaleski (Morris), Daniel Birchard (Pembina) and Timothy Friesen (East St. Paul). The three Viterra Championship berth winners were Justin Reynolds, Richard Muntain of the Granite and Joey Witherspoon of Assiniboine Memorial. 

The Provincial Junior Curling Championships begin tonight at the Portage Curling Club. The 11 team Junior Women’s event will be a triple knockout, with a 4-team Page Playoff. Dayna Wahl of Altona, who captured the Provincial U18 Championship at her home club on New Year's Eve, will meet Julie Van Ryssel of Springfield and Shaela Hayward of Carman will face Katy Lukowich of the Granite who is the number one seed on the opening draw tonight at 7:30 p.m. Defending champion Jordon McDonald is the number one seed for the Junior Men's Championship. Jace Freeman of Virden is the second seed followed by Aaron Van Ryssel of Springfield. The Junior Men will play a round-robin format with two pools of five teams and a 4-team Page Playoff. Zach Norris of the Morris Curling Club will play his round robin opener against Luke Robins of West St. Paul Wednesday at 10 a.m. The finalists in both championships advance to the Canadian Junior Championships March 25th - April 2nd in Rouyn-Noranda, Québec.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have signed American defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat to a one-year contract extension. He was scheduled to become a free agent next month. The Dallas native returns to the Blue Bombers for a sixth season in 2023. Despite missing six regular season games due to injury, Jeffcoat finished the 2022 campaign with four quarterback sacks, 20 defensive tackles, one interception along with a forced fumble and fumble recovery. He was especially effective in the playoffs with a sack in each of the Western Final and Grey Cup games, adding a forced fumble in the championship loss to the Toronto Argonauts.