The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association presented their annual High School Coaching Awards Monday at its annual general meeting, which is being held in Portage la Prairie. Kelli Sinnock of Sanford Collegiate was presented with the Nick Laping Leadership Award. Keith Forsyth of Boissevain School was presented the Frank McKinnon Award for his outstanding volunteerism in high school sport. Doug Durksen of Westgate Mennonite Collegiate in Winnipeg and Lana Dubois of Neelin High School in Brandon are the MHSAA Coaches of the Year. Both received a $1,000 award courtesy of the 1990 Grey Cup Legacy Fund.

Carman and Scotswood Links were winners to start off week four of the Prairie Putter Men's Golf League Monday night. Carman defeated Winkler eight points to four and it was Scotswood Links over Portage nine-and-a-half points to two-and-a-half points. Minnewasta will take on Bridges in Morden on Thursday.

Ryan Winterton had two goals and an assist as the host Saint John Sea Dogs downed the Ontario Hockey League champion Hamilton Bulldogs 5-3 on the opening night of the Memorial Cup in New Brunswick. The Western Hockey League champion Edmonton Oil Kings will face the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League champion Shawinigan Cataractes tonight. The Canadian Hockey League announced a new point system hours before the start of the Memorial Cup. Team will now earn three points for a regulation win, two points for an overtime win and one point for an overtime loss during the six-game round robin. Overtime will be 3-on-3 with 20 minutes periods. Overtime for tiebreakers and playoff games with be 5-on-5. 

Curling Canada’s newest championship will feature new teams and an exciting new format. The inaugural PointsBet Invitational will be played Sept. 21-25 at Willie O’Ree Place in Fredericton and will bring together Canada’s best men’s and women’s curling teams for the first major event of the 2022-23 curling season, and the first event of the quadrennial that leads to the 2026 Winter Olympics in Italy. Not only will it be the first opportunity to see many new teams that were formed during this off-season, but it will also be a chance to see a format new to Curling Canada’s Season of Champions that will feature 16 men’s and 16 women’s teams compete in a single-knockout tournament offering a purse in excess of $350,000. The full fields will be announced at a later date, but tentatively, the 16 teams in each gender will comprise the top 12 ranked teams on the revamped World Curling Team Ranking System. All 32 competing teams will receive $5,000 to cover travel and accommodation costs, and teams will earn more money for each successive win in the single-knockout tournament — $3,000 for a first-round win, $6,000 for a quarterfinal win, $12,000 for a semifinal win and $24,000 to the victorious women’s and men’s teams, meaning the two winning teams will each collect a total of $50,000.