Concerns over the current list of eligible voters for the upcoming Canadian Wheat Board director elections has prompted action by Agriculture Minister Chuck Strahl.

Strahl notes no definitive producers list is kept, so the permit book system has been used to develop the voters list in the past.

However, the current list includes a number of permit book holders that have had zero deliveries to the C.W.B. in recent years.

Of the 44,578 producers on the preliminary list provided to the election coordinator, more than 16,000 made no deliveries in the past two crop years.

Strahl has asked the Board to work with the election coordinator to compile the voters list on the basis of those who have actually sold and delivered grain in the 2005-06 and 2006-07 crop years.

Producers with zero sales can be added to the list if they file a statutory declaration with the election coordinator.