Incumbent Bill Nicholson has been re-elected as director of the Canadian Wheat Board’s District 9.

The Shoal Lake area farmer, and single desk supporter, easily beat Bruce Dalgarno and Derrick Beischer, the other two candidates running.

Nicholson received 1,932 votes compared to Dalgarno’s 617, and Beischer’s 380.

2,929 eligible votes were cast in district 9, equaling a response rate of almost 50%.

Across the Prairies 51.5% of ballots were returned.

In the 5 districts where elections were held a total of 15,875 valid ballots were cast.


4 out of the 5 districts elected single desk supporters with the exception of District 1 which covers northern Alberta and the Peace area of British Columbia.