The Red River Wild and Portage Islanders were winners in the SEMHL. The Wild scored five unanswered second period goals en route to a 9-2 victory over Notre Dame. TJ Matuszewski and Jonah Wasylak had two goals each for Red River while the rest went to Gavin Froese, Riley Hunter, Brendan Keck, Troy Lehmann and Jared Magne. Marc Vigier and Eli Carels replied for the Hawks. Tyler Van Deynze scored twice as Portage downed Ste. Anne 6-1. Jens Meilleur, Tanner Lesann, Johl Swedlo and Jamie Mousseau also scored for the Islanders who improved to 5-0 on the season. Caleb Paisley had the lone goal for the Aces.

Caleb Boulanger and Logan Dearborn did the goal scoring and Logan Mazinke made 33 saves as Morris edged Miller 2-1 at Sunflower Gardens. The Mavericks have won four in a row. Jaxon Hildebrand had the lone goal for the Zone 4 High School Hockey League leading Aces.

The Pembina Valley Twisters dropped a 5-4 decision to Transcona. Nathan Turner won it for the Railer Express with a power play goal 3:36 into overtime. Nico Vigier, Max Colllet, Zander Carels and Jonathan Dyck did the goal scoring for the Twisters. 

Pierre-Luc Dubois and Saku Maenalanen each scored twice as the Winnipeg Jets defeated the Chicago Blackhawks 7-2 at the United Centre. Kyle Connor, Jansen Harkins and Mark Scheifele also scored for the Jets. Josh Morrissey chipped in with three helpers. Winnipeg's Connor Hellebuyck made 23 saves. The Jets (13-6-1) begin a four-game homestand Tuesday night when they meet the defending Stanley Cup champion Colorado Avalanche. 

Canada will not advance to the knockout round at the FIFA World Cup in Qatar. Canada suffered its second straight loss dropping a 4-1 decision to Croatia and were eliminated. Andrej Kramaric found the back of the net twice for the Croatians who are ranked 12th in the world and were runner-up to France four years ago in Russia. Alphonso Davies scored Canada's first-ever World Cup goal in the second minute. Canada will play its final Group Stage match Thursday against Morocco.

Canada has won the Davis Cup for the first time. Denis Shapovalov and Felix Auger-Aliassime recorded singles victories over Australia to clinch the title. Shapovalov defeated Thanasi Kokkinakis 6-2, 6-4, while Auger-Aliassime beat Alex de Minaur 6-3, 6-2. Canada had reached the final only once before falling to host Spain in Madrid in 2019.