The Warren Mercs and Ste. Anne Aces were winners on the opening night of the SEMHL playoffs. Brock Couch scored 44 seconds into overtime to lift the Mercs past the Notre Dame Hawks 5-4 and Jordan DePape had two goals and an assist as the defending champion Aces downed the Ile des Chenes Northstars 5-1. Those were the first games in their respective best-of-five quarterfinals.

The Zone 4 High School Hockey League’s regular season schedule is over. Tyson Preteau had two goals and two helpers as Morris defeated Portage Collegiate. The Mavericks will meet the defending champion Morden Thunder; the Trojans will face the first place Miller Aces; the Garden Valley Zodiacs take on the Mountain Mustangs and the Carman Cougars meet the Pembina Tigers in the best-of-three quarterfinals.

Liam Ernst stopped 23 shots in the Winkler Flyers 3-1 victory over the Swan Valley Stampeders. Dalton Andrew scored his 29th of the season for Winkler on the power play with two seconds left in the second period to tie the game at 1-1. Brody Beauchemin and Marek Miller added third period goals for the visiting Flyers who have clinched a playoff spot in the MJHL.

The Pembina Valley Hawks fell 3-2 in overtime to the Interlake Lightning in Morden. Jayden Penner and Acoyen Fehr scored for the Hawks who have five games left and trail the Lightning, Winnipeg Thrashers and Winnipeg Bruins by five points in the race for fourth place in the Manitoba U18 AAA Hockey League.

Pembina Valley dropped a 4-2 decision to the Eastman Selects in Niverville. Emma Durant and Ava Dalebozik did the goal scoring for the Hawks who play their regular season finale Sunday against the Interlake Lightning in Arborg. Pembina Valley will finish in seventh place and meet the second place Westman Wildcats in the opening round of the Manitoba Female U18 AAA Hockey League playoffs.

The Brandon Wheat Kings gave up three goals in the first period and three more in the third and lost 7-3 to the Raiders in Prince Albert. Nolan Flamand, Brett Hyland and Dominik Petr scored for the Wheat Kings who were outshot 45-24 by the Raiders.

The Winnipeg Jets season high five-game losing skid came to an end Saturday night at Canada Life Centre. Connor Hellebuyck made 35 saves as Winnipeg shaded the Pittsburgh Penguins 2-1. Mark Scheifele and Nino Niederreiter did the goal scoring for the Jets.

Kristian Reichel scored the only goal of the shootout as the Manitoba Moose edged the Grand Rapids Griffins 4-3. Brad Lambert, Jeffrey Viel and Ville Heinola scored in regulation for the visiting Moose.

Lauren Weselak of Morden Collegiate and Colton Olafson of Portage Collegiate lost out in the semifinals of the Provincial High School Curling Championships at the Heather Curling Club in Winnipeg. Weselak, Annabelle Lanthier, Laycee Henderson & Kaitlyn McCallister fell 8-2 to Karys Buchalter of West Kildonan. Olafson, Tristan Blight, Hunter Jeffries & Colby Nikkel lost 7-3 to Blake Good of Stonewall. Meghan Lagadi of St. Mary’s and Evan Boutet of College Beliveau captured the championship banners. Shyla Johnson & Max Barrett of Garden City won the Provincial Mixed Doubles championship at the Pembina Curling Club. Rylan Hiebert & Kamryn Klassen of Garden Valley lost 5-4 to Quinn Lagace & Evangeline Le Heiget of College Jeanne-Sauve in the semifinals.

Shaela Hayward, Keira Krahn, India Young and Rylie Cox are 2024 Canadian U18 curling champions. The Carman Curling Club foursome defeated Jolianne Fortin of Quebec 8-5 in Saturday’s gold medal game in Ottawa. Rylan Campbell, Logan Zacharias, Nick Senff and Rylan Graham of the Altona Curling Club edged Owen Nicholls of Ontario 6-5 in the Consolation B final. Nash Sugden, Tyler Fehr, Tanner Treichel and Ryan Thiessen of Morden fell 5-4 to Isaiah Dalton of Prince Edward Island in their ranking game.